READING…it’s not just for the kids!

One of my primary New Years Resolutions for 2016 is to spend more time doing what I want my students to do and love……READING!

book pages with heart

In years past, I have made lists…lists of books that I have already read, and lists of books that I want to read. But, most of those lists were made in the years before becoming a mother and a principal. In the last decade, I have grabbed a book whenever I could. I have read a few books, I’ve followed some blogs, I’ve perused articles someone posted on Twitter. But mostly, I have thrown together some supper, bathed the child, checked the homework, walked the dogs, and crawled under the sheets more tired than I could imagine, turning off my brain, and turning on Netflix until I slipped effortlessly into dreamland, leaving the movie to be concluded sometime over the weekend. Reading has taken a backseat for far too long.

This year, my overarching goal is to be more purposeful and intentional in all areas of my life. I am becoming more structured in my prayer life, and more disciplined in my bible study time. So, I have decided to structure my Reading resolution by dividing my books to be read into three areas:

  1. Books about Faith
  2. Books for Work
  3. Books just for Fun

This should help me to be more balanced in my reading initiative. Loving planners and calendars and all sorts of organization like I do, I searched for a graphic organizer/chart that would help me to read with purpose and stay on track. (Once a teacher, always a teacher….geez.)

Here is the monthly book chart I chose to use this year. I typed directly into the .pdf and saved it. In each month, I typed 2-3 titles (depending on how many school holidays I had during that month: spring break, summer, and thanksgiving weeks I can handle more reading; May and August, I can barely take a shower and feed myself in time to get a good night’s sleep!) With parentheses, I designated the book category: (faith), (work), or (fun). This sheet also gives me a good view of the entire year, and I can move titles around or add new ones as I go.

FYI. My education titles for this year include:

A Beautiful Constraint: How To Transform Your Limitations Into Advantages, and Why It’s Everyone’s Business

Drive: The Surprising Truth about What Motivates Us

The Zappos Experience: 5 Principles to Inspire, Engage, and WOW

The Ten-Minute Inservice: 40 Quick Training Sessions that Build Teacher Effectiveness

The Life & Death of the Great American School System

stack of books with kindle


I found a great article about making time in our busy schedule. It encourages me.
15 Ways to Make More Time to Read

  1. Make reading a priority
  2. Set a reading goal
  3. Make reading part of your routine
  4. Keep books readily accessible
  5. Be willing to read in spurts
  6. Read more than one book at a time
  7. Don’t be afraid to go away from your list
  8. Turn off the TV
  9. Get off Facebook
  10. Keep a good book on your mobile device
  11. Utilize the wonderful world of audiobooks
  12. Read while you exercise
  13. Ban the guilt
  14. Use the bathroom
  15. Read while you blow dry your hair or brush your teeth

Another helpful article:  How to Read a Book When You are Busy

kindle in hand

 

 

 

 

 

 

eBook anyone?

kindle iconibooks icon nook icon

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

