My new favorite To-Do-List App

As a school principal, I have spent many, many hours trying to hone my organizational skills in order to be more productive. Do it quicker, better, more streamlined…automaticity.  You know the drill. I have tried many different methods of organization. When teaching in the 1990s, I learned a very successful method of calendaring and to do lists from Motivational Speaker Dave Weber. At that time it was a paper and pencil, binder and filing type of system. Recently I have noticed that Dave has morphed his system to meet the electronic needs of today.  http://www.daveweber.com/TimeMgmt.htm   I might have to check out this new workshop one day…..

Since my school system has gone GOOGLE, I naturally use Gmail, Calendar, Drive and all that comes with it. I also love using Evernote (though mostly for long term storage of pictures, meeting notes, and documents).  But….. for my long list of To Dos, I have found a simple and free app that I have fallen in love with.

 

wunderlist-logo

 “Wunderlist” is a to-do list and task manager that’s compatible with almost any device you can think of. iPhone? Yep. Android? You bet. Windows Phone? Sure. It’s even available on the web, so you can access it from your computer without having to download the application.

 Wunderlist helps keep your entire life organized, and it’s dead simple. When the user creates an account, the app suggests a few lists to help organize tasks. The ability to create and rename as many as you want, allows users to move and place certain tasks in the appropriate topics.

Need to study for a test? Put that task in the school list. Need to buy milk? Put that task in a grocery list.

If you tell it to, Wunderlist will send you a notification at the time you specify, and can be delivered as an email or phone alert.

You can even set a recurring reminder – like going to the gym at 7 p.m. every Monday.

source of quote

 

wunderlist all devices

 

Wunderlist is a FREE To-Do List app that keeps my life organized. I love it because I have it on all my devices and I can add or edit ‘on the fly’ anywhere I am. When I check off a task, it gives me a loud ‘ding’ – that is so satisfying.  😉   I have folders for each area of my life and I keep adding new areas all the time. To give you some ideas, this is a list of where I started:

  • Family (things I have to do or remember for the husband, children, parents)
  • Work (I actually have several sections for work: observations, ideas for next professional learning, things to remember for 2016-17, etc.)
  • Pets (vaccination, grooming)
  • Church (my nursery volunteer schedule, greeter schedule, planning for the next bible study or women’s conference)
  • Home repair (this one is my dream of all I will get done over Spring Break, or during those short two weeks off during the summer)
  • Grocery list (this one is ongoing, constantly checking off items and adding more)
  • Christmas gifts (just trying to think ahead folks)

 

wunderlist landing

Once you get yourself started, be sure to set some reminders. This is such a cool feature. Check it out. You’ll be glad you did! And be sure leave me a comment about ways you have found to use Wunderlist.

Wunderlist website

Wunderlist app in iTunes

You Tube video: Introduction to Wunderlist

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

